Age old question - Fly or drive

We are heading to Disney in under a month, and I am totally stuck. Kids want to fly, and hubby wants to drive. Both hubby and I HATE to fly, but I tell you, with gas prices, it’s getting hard to use the excuse of saving some money. Anyone else in this same position? I’m just worried if we bite the bullet, hubby won’t enjoy himself, thinking about the flight home.

I am in the SAME boat as you. As of right now, it’s still about $300 cheaper for me to DRIVE (I’ve never done it before!). Unless I get an awesome DING fare, driving it is. 1100 miles each way, from New York City. With two kids. YEE-HAW!!! :noo:

Drive, Drive, Drive!!! Our family has both driven the trip and flew!!! We are about 1060 miles from WDW. My parents always drove with me and my brother and we (hubby and me) now drive with my son. I guess it was kind of easy for my parents because my brother was a bookworm and I got car sick so I took dramamine and slept through entire states at a time. Just plan on sleeping somewhere…it’s too long to drive through in my opinion, but I guess I just feel bad for my hubby because I still take dramamine and sleep through states at a time, no need for me to drive!

We always plan on driving but fly if we get a great deal on airline tickets. The last two years we’ve gotten flights under $70 so we’ve grabbed them but I don’t enjoy flying. I don’t mind the drive but it’s nice to get there in 2 hours rested and ready to go. As much as I hate flying it is easier, especially with Magical Express.

I have always flown, but with the way airfare has been, we decided to drive from the Seattle area to Anahiem (roughly 1200 miles) on our trip last month. We ended up spending around $300 in gas. It would have cost us three times that for the three of us to fly. The drive was actually much easier than I expected. If your family can handle car trips, I say go for it!

Drive is beautiful the drive from there, except the DC area that is a killer.