AKV Aug 25th - Sept 2 + 3 day cruise

Well, it was a great trip. I will try and keep this short and sweet. I don’t really have much choice because if I don’t do this live I tend to forget a lot of stuff we did.

Because we were taking the cruise and had to get to the ship somehow we decided to rent a car for the entire duration of the trip. I know some of you like specifics so here they are. It would have cost me close to $300 to take Disney’s bus to the cruise ship. The Toyota Rav4 cost me just under $600. I was going to have to spend the $300 anyway so in my mind the car cost me three. I put around $50 or so in gas plus decided to valet which was another $100.

This is our fourth trip and our first with a car. I have seen and read many discussions on this subject on the pros and cons of a car at DW so I wanted to try it myself. I was concerned about getting lost. I am an ex-truck driver but if I cant get my bearings (N,S,E,W) I’m almost as lost as my DW. I said ALMOST!

While I did get lost a few times, for the most part, the signs make the area almost dummy proof.

For you east coasters it’s a short hop, but for us, it’s a solid day of travel. We landed at 4:30 pm and were in the rental car by 5:15 on our way. The signs from the airport led me all the way there. No need for gps.

We arrived with no worries and got room 7756. My first stay at my home resort. The resort is five star all the way. we got a one bedroom on the third floor and quite a walk to the lobby. No big, expected it. Oh, I forgot to say that on this trip it’s just me, DW and DD (10). DS (16) is totally burnt out on Disney. I can totally see his point of view. Who would want to stay at a five star property with world class cuisine and a great pool while surrounded by the friendliest people on earth. Sure, I get it.

It is our first trip where we did not bring a princess dress. Well, she did it for 6 years. Guess we had a great run, but she’s growing up.