ATA declares Bankruptcy

I noticed that both TTA AIrlines and Aloha Airlines both declared bankruptcy, again, since both had just emerged from brankruptcy approximately two years ago.

I did notice Southwest is assisting ticketed passengers since they code share to Hawaii.

With fuel prices as they are, you might want to look at the financial status of your designated airline before you book.:ph34r:

I saw this is as well, but, I thought it was ATA airlines? Or is that a different airline all together?

That’s exactly what I was thinking.

It is ATA. Unfortunately they are - were code share with Southwest. There goes the Hawaii trip. Not to mention hundreds of more pilots unemployeed. (I realize there are lots of other folks affected, but I’m a pilot and would really like to get out of the real estate business. Pilots keep getting laid off and that makes the odds of a career change even harder.)

Little typo there.

It is, in fact, ATA.

I’m glad this didn’t happen a few months sooner; it was ATA that got me to Honolulu for the first leg of my trip home in December. SWA would have been a bit hard-pressed to accommodate all of ATA’s passengers that day.

So sad! There are a lot of people left high and dry by the sudden disappearance of these airlines. I must say that I was shocked by Aloha going under, even though they’d filed previously. There flights from the mainland were always full and they charged a pretty penny for Orange County flights! ATA…I’m not surprised. I never had much faith in them:(
Such a tough time for the industry…so many people out of jobs…

Since it’s a typo I’ll change the title of the thread.

Very sad for the employees of both ATA and Aloha. I’ve been in the airline industry over 18 years, and it’s starting to feel a lot like the late 80s, early 90s, when so many carriers were bought up or went under. The fact that so many people like to badmouth the airlines doesn’t help.