Camping at Fort Wilderness...how does it work?

I was wondering how camping at Fort Wilderness works. I am specifically looking for information about camping with tents.

Do you bring your own tent…or can you rent one? Are the rentals ok?
When is a good camping season? I can imagine that it gets pretty cold/hot during certain times of the year.
Are the showers close to the campsites? Modern toilets or outhouses? Are the tent camps separate from the RV/camper campsites? Can you build a campfire?

Any information would be lovely. Thank you!

I am going from what I ahve read about so, bare with me. I am not personally a camper, so I have no personal experience with this. As far as I can tell, the tent sites are seperate from where the cabins etc are…it would only make sense that they are seperate from the RV sites as well cause you wouldn’t need hook-ups with a tent. There are showers etc located in every single loop, so I can’t imagine you not being able to fine one close to your spot. As for renting tents, I doubt it…never heard of anyone doing that. Doesn’t mean it’s not possible, but I have never heard it ever. I would think that if you are going to camp in a tent, you would bring your own. As for the best times to camp, I would think the less rainy/hot seasons of October and early november would be the best and maybe even April/may. Beyond that, the weather is either to unpredictable or WAYYY to hot.

I have thought about this as well and heard that the bathhouses are really nice. As fas as renting tents I dont know. If I were to camp there I would drive down so I could bring my own as well as my portable air unit

Air conditioning…tu chez! :cool: