Can someone answer this DCM question?

This does not have to be answered by cast members, but anyone.

I am a police officer and I deal with a good amount of teens and adults who do not have respect for themselves or others.I enjoy visiting the parks and resorts often to get away from some of the elements of my job.

I know Walt had his ideas of a family park with people coming for fun and togetherness as a family. I know he expects his cast members to be courteous and respectful at all times. Since Walt opened the parks society has changed. So, in this day and age, how do cast members deal with those guests who are very disrespectful and rude?

Or is this part of the magic that envelops you when you enter?

oooooooo- good question…

I know that when I was a cast member for every one rude guest, there always seemed to be 100 really excited, happy guests just enjoying their vacation and I would always try to remember that and not let the Rudie-McRudes get the best of me.

Though I definitely had my share of rude guests that were, um, challenging to deal with, the really sweet guests outnumbered them by a lot. Whenever I had to deal with someone being especially rude, I always just tried to kill them with kindess. It was my experience that when people are super rude to you, they are often hoping to get some kind of a reaction out of you. I always just kept smiling and being accomodating and that always seemed to annoy them more than if I engaged them in a battle!

There is no better way to deal with an unhappy guest than to “kill them with kindness.” Failing to get a reaction will frustrate them more than anything!

But what Karen said is true, for every terrible guest, there seem to be 100 great ones to make up for it. :heart:

It’s difficult. I won’t say that there weren’t days when I wanted to throw something at a guest and tell them to go to Universal! :laugh: But I would have to take a deep breath and remind myself WWWD (What Would Walt Do?) :tongue: