Charging purchases to Room Key

I’ve been thinking about doing this for awhile now. I’m planning on bringing a large amount of cash. I’m not a big fan of going to my wallet all day and night, so i’d like to pay with the room key and then just pay the bill off when we check out. I’ve never done this before so i’m guessing they’ll ask for a credit card to set it up at check-in. Will they allow you to just pay with CASH or are they going to slam my credit card when we leave? Can i ask in advance for them not to charge my card?

Also, does this work anywhere on Disney property? Are there any limitations to paying with a room key anywhere?

The room key is much easier for me because i can lock up my wallet in the room safe and just travel with my ID and key.

Any tips, ideas, suggestions, warnings, etc would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks

i think they are just going to charge your credit card when you leave…
but…we only sometimes charge stuff to the room. What you COULD do is either go to a Disney store and trade your cash in for Disney Dollars…OR…they sell WDW Gift cards on property now in every merchandise store. You could go and buy on with all your cash on your first night there and use it on your entire trip. I am pretty positive they are taken almost everywhere on property as well.

We have done that for a couple years now. You just set the charge on your room with a credit card. They will give you a limit and when you are close to going over it you can raise it. They can all link it to all of your room keys.

You have to leave an imprint of your credit card at check in, but you can pay cash at check out time (you just can not do express check out then). Depending on the type of resort you are staying at (economy, moderate, deluxe) will set the maximum you can charge per day on your room key. Sorry, but can not tell you what the limits are, but they are fairly generous. Hope this helps.