Go Away Hanna

We are leaving in the morning for 4 days at WDW, but are worried about Hanna. According to WDW, they have their own meteorologists who are convinced that the storm will not affect them. Being a Florida resident myself, though, I am not convinced. If we postpone our trip, we will be giving up free Disney Dining and 3 1-day parkhoppers that we still have from last year’s trip. Have any of you been at WDW during a storm? How do they handle It? Thanks!!

I haven’t been during a storm but I remember a few years ago when all the hurricanes came through Disney handled it really well. WishUponAStar just went during TS Fay and actually had a great time!

A lot of the WDW resorts are actually used as shelters when storms hit the area and the CM are all pretty used to working around storms :wink:

It all depends on how comfortable you would be - would you be thinking about the storm the whole time you are there? Are you ok with being in the parks when it is raining?

I would just pack extra ponchos, a couple of umbrellas and some shoes you will be comfortable wearing in the rain.

I’ve never been there for a tropical storm, but if there is one place on the planet that meticulously plans for every possible scenario, it would have to be WDW. I’d hate to give up on all those passes and pay for them again, especially if it turned out to be nothing.

Hurricane forcasting is the science of predicting the unpredictable.

Hopefully it won’t be a factor. The last I heard it was a unstable storm that may or may not get to hurricane strength and was heading towards the SC coast. Got my fingers crossed for ya.

The last track I saw was Thursday PM for South Fl . . . so you’ll be there two days before it’s in the Orlando area . . . it may even blow out to sea!

Ike is the one everyone down here is REALLY talking about!!!

Wear a poncho, and have a blast!! :smile:

Here’s hoping that Hanna stays away from your vacation and weakens for those that it does effect.