Has anyone ever used a touring plan?

I love touringplans.com for their crowd calendar, but I’ve been exploring their site a little more in depth, and I read that using a touring plan is 5 times more important than what the crowd level prediction for any particular day is. I’ve looked over their touring plans before, but we’ve always just done our own “plan” in the past according to the crowd predictions. Has anyone ever used one of touringplans.com plans or even one that they publish in the Unofficial Guide? We’re going for a week in June, but we’re only doing 5 days of hoppers so that DH and DS can go Universal and play with Harry Potter one day, and I really enjoy some down time at our resort as well. Of course I still want to do as much as we can during our park time too. Do you think using a touring plan would make a difference for our family? The average crowd level the week we will be there is around a 7.

Missymouse, I studied the touring plans that came in the Unofficial Guides, but we didn’t follow them exactly. We traveled with three generations for a total of 7 people, and the rhythm of our group made having a concrete plan unappealing. That being said, I made a point of writing down the times they recommended for our favorite attractions (Dumbo is my DD10s favorite!) and kept in mind the tips they had for attractions during parades, etc. I think if we visited the parks as a family of 5 I might be more compelled to follow a touring plan. I guess you could go with the mindset of following the plan and then deviate if necessary.

Anyway you look at it, it’s kind of fun to dream and think about an upcoming trip, so any time spent studying the plans isn’t wasted time! :laugh::laugh:

We are not going to follow a plan, but I am going to take notes on which attractions to do first - if I can get my family up & moving! It looks like the parks don’t open til 9 when we are there so we won’t be getting an early start anyway.