Ingamba's Official Disneyland Thread

As many of you know, I’m a WDW veteran having made many trips since I was a child. The same experience doesn’t hold true for Disneyland, as I have never been there even though it’s long been a dream of mine.

I would like to start this thread to ask any Disneyland questions I might have to all of you DLR experts out there.

The first of which is this:

Is it better to fly into LAX, or Orange County Airport, when one is travelling from the East Coast and wants to do DLR only?

I like Orange County better because it’s smaller and not nearly as crazy as LAX. But you will most likely get better airfare going into LAX. At least that’s how it’s been in my experience.

Ingamba good thread to start. In my case it was nearly $200 MORE to fly into Orange County airport than LAX. I hope Ddoll reads this b/c I know you live near her and I remember awhile ago I think she said she found an airline from your airport that goes cheaper into Orange County.

Although, from most major airports in my area (Newark, Philly, JFK, Laguardia) it IS significantly cheaper to fly into LAX. Keep in mind that I do refuse layovers, especially on a longer flight like that and when I don’t have a lot of time to waste getting to DL.

Also, to be honest, it has NEVER taken me longer than an hour to get from LAX to DL. That was moderate traffic levels too. I’d say the average time was 45 minutes. If you are going to be in the SoCal area though, renting a car is nearly a must. There is no cushy “magical express” to get you to and fro, and I am assuming you’d want to leave the resort for SOMETHING?!?

We flew into Orange County. It was not a direct flight though. If we had flown into LAX, it would have been direct. We really liked the Orange County airport. We rented a car right at the airport, so it was very convenient. It only took us 15 minutes to get to Disneyland.
Pro: Much closer to Disney, smaller airport, less traffic