Interview WARNING!

I had my interview for the college program this past fall (for Summer 2010). It went extremely well and I was accepted into the program. However…Disney tried to pull a fast one on me.

The positions I applied for were: Retail/Merchandising, Attractions Operator, Wardrobe Manager and Bibbity Bobbity Boutique Worker. I know some of these positions offer very limited availablity…but I am a hair/makeup stylist for a living and the interviewer was so “wowed” by that. She even said, “Oh that would be great! We’ve never had a professional here before”. So what job did I end up getting?

Food Service.

Food Service wasn’t even on my list of jobs I was willing to do. So how did I get assigned, you ask? Well during the end of the interview the lady said to me, “I see food service is not on your list of jobs…but would you mind if I checked it just incase nothing else is available for you?”

DO NOT SAY YES TO THIS. I don’t think anyone really signs up for food service so they have to find a way to con people into choosing it. It’s really quite sad. I don’t think college students should have to work food service…that’s not really a good Disney experience. Unless maybe you were working a sit-down place, which is not the case here. They only have the students working counter service. :mellow:

Now, don’t think this is me trash talking the college program…because I’m sure it is fantastic. I just wish they would remove food service from the list of student jobs. It’s just not right to work a student 40 hours a week for $6/hour in the blistering heat with a neverending line of hungry people. I could have that “experience” in my hometown.

Oh man. I’m sorry you wound up with food service as your assignment. Pardon me if this is a dumb question, but since I know almost nothing about the college program - is there any chance of getting a reassignment after you’ve been there a while??