Need advise on Spirit Air

Hi all. I have never used Spirit before and just booked them for Sept 1-6 out of AC to MCO. I paid $429 for 4 of us RT and that includes the $39.99 for the $9 club and $150 in taxes. I was going to book RT for next weekend 5-29 5-31 and stay at SSR for a few nights because I rec an Email today for $17 one way tickets so I come home to book and the price for 2 tickets went from $17 one way to $240 RT for 2 people:confused: So basically did I do the wrong thing and book Spirit for Sept? I didnt know I would have to pay for bags and seats until AFTER they charged my cc. I always flw SWA BUT they wanted $1023 for the same dates and amount of people.
Im thinking of buying a purple locker in Sept so when I do go down I wont have to pay for a ton of bags.
Is it free to carry on a backpack on spirit?

any advise on this airline would be super! Thanks

The bags are going to run you a solid extra hundred if you take one bag per person…that per trip…hundred back. then you have to pay to pick your seat…yes, that is another $40+ depending on which seats you pick. the carr=on luggage now costs money, so you can only take one personal bag. The tickets are nonrefundable and if you find a coupon or deal later, no changing the reservation and getting a credit. they charge you for that too. That $429 R/T for four people is going to double by the time you get done with all the charges. I am booked with them for August…have taken them three times and the ONLY reason I continue to is I like to fly out of Atlantic city. The best part of that is the parking…dirt cheap in a safe lot.

Thanks Dana. I am so mad at myself for not researching this. I think Im going to stuff me and the 2 kids in 1 bag which is $15 going and stuff Ed into a back pack which is free then who cares where we sit on the way home because we may be all tired of one another by the end of the trip :laugh: I seen the cheap fare and jumped without thinking