Need planning help, please. Total newbie!

I haven’t been to Disneyland since I was a child and this is likely to be our only trip there while our children are still children. I don’t know anything and I’m getting lost trying to figure out themeparks and abbreviations and all sorts of stuff. Please help!

I’m still open to advice (and lots of it), but I think I’ve decided on something like this.
[B]Sunday May 20[/B]: Arrive and get checked in. Swim. Get settled, groceries, whatever I need.
[B]M-Th[/B]: Me and the kids at the park. I need to figure out what we want to see (I don’t even know what’s there) and when we’ll do each.
[B]Fr[/B]i: Daddy and the grandparents join us for a birthday celebration. Take it easy day. Get in what we can, planned around a couple must-do activities.
[B]Sat[/B]: (Expected to be busy b/c of Memorial Day weekend) Fast-paced day so Daddy can get in whatever he wants. We can sit out and take a break while he does some rides if needed since we’ll have done 5 days already.

Now that I know this is probably the plan, what do I do next? Choose a hotel? Choose a park pass? Something else?

First, welcome to Mousebuzz. You found the perfect site since we all love to offer our suggestions and we have fun while doing it. Stuffy folks end up leaving after awhile.
I’ve never been to DL, but many here have. They will chime in soon.
One great source of information is to sign into AllEars.Net - The Unofficial Disney Vacation Planning Guide - Walt Disney World, Disneyland and Disney Cruise Line. Read through the many sections about DL and planning for your trip. And if you have any ??? just come back here to MB and ask away. Someone will have the answer.

It is definitely time to choose a hotel. First: on-site or off-site? On-site will be more expensive, but has perks. There are off-site hotels that are just as close to the parks.

It also sounds to me as if buying The Unofficial Guide to Disneyland would be your best first step.