Newbie trip questions... AKL

Hello Disney people,

Newbie here, taking my forst trip to WDW in December with my wife and 2 daughters (3.5 & 1.5). Looking for any input/advice any of the more Disney-ized can give for tavelling with two little ones. (Last time I was there was 1986… I was 11) between the Oct-Dec discounts and Delta Skymiles the trip is in the bag.

I have booked AKL for a week in a Savannah View room for the 7 days/6nights (My older daughter might actually fall down if/when she sees a real giraffe outside our balcony). However, I have a few concerns about staying the whole week at AKL.

1. How can I best acquire the best Savannah View room? Id it chosen when I check in? or can I call earlier? I have read some of the room provide better animal viewings (near feeding sites/coralling sites/etc…) or is it luck of the draw.

2. Transportation - Im a little concerned about the bus/motorcoach transit with a 3 year old and an infant. any thoughts?

3. Vegetarian wife and the limited restaurant choices at AKL.

On of my other ideas was to try a split week with one of the more convienent resorts (poly/contemp) for the MK stuff for a few days and AKL for a few days. Am I being paranoid?

Thanks, for any help.

Bill

A couple thoughts that apply to all Disney resorts -
Rooms are allocated at check-in. So to get first crack at specific rooms try to check-in as close to 3 as possible. You can make requests by phone or fax.
All Disney full service restaurants will accomodate special dietary concerns. Let them know when you make your PS and confirm 48 - 24 hours before your meal. Also, if your wife is a no-red meat vegetarian, vegan or ovo-lacto etc. be sure to specify.
Oh yeah, and check allearsnet.com for menus. Many Disney restaurants are incorporating vegetarian friendly food in their regular menus.
Have a fabulous trip!