Point Swap

We’re new mbers. 1st mber trip in Dec 08!:tinytree:
If we wanted to stay in another resort and found someone who wanted to stay at our home resort could we do a swap? That way we could all take advantage of booking 11 months out. I am worried that having to wait 'til 7 months we might not be able to get a different resort. Has anyone run into trouble? We really hope to staying at WLV in the future and have tried in the past but failed both times(3 & 10 months out). Could it just have been b/c we weren’t mbers then?

Interesting questions… I am looking forward to seeing what the answers are as they come in.

I am brand new to the whole process, but it seems like you’d have to cook up a deal where you are actually renting your points out to someone else, and they are renting their points to you instead of writing you a check.

If that ends up being the case, wouldn’t it seem OK to just go ahead and make each other’s reservations just like in a regular rental situation?

I guess it could work but it sounds like it could be tough.

Where do you own? If you own at AKV you would have an easier time than if you own at SSR because SSR is pretty easy to get in at 7 months so people who don’t own there won’t need to go through you to get in there. VWL is the smallest DVC resort and can be a hard resort to get in at 7 months, especially at Christmas.

If I were you I would book at my home resort at 11 months and waitlist at the resort I wanted. It might come through, who knows.