Pre-College Program anxiety

Next month I am going to be starting the college program. I am so excited about this because working for Disney has been my dream since I was three years old. It still doesn’t feel real to me that this is about to happen.- I am starting to have to some major anxiety about it though and this is why. When I was typical college age (18-22) I was not ready or financially able to go to school then. I have been working and supporting myself since I was 20 years old. I had to grow up quickly and sometimes I feel a lot older than my 27 years. This year I went to back to school majoring in Hospitality and Tourism which is one of the best decisions I could have made for myself. I’m 27 now and I am worried about fitting in with all the younger students on the college program. I know I’ll only be a few years older than most of the people there, but I am no longer into partying etc. For me this opportunity is about establishing my career and being at Disney, and following my dreams. I want to have fun too!! I am just so nervous about fitting in with the other students, I want to make new friends, but I don’t want to stick out like a sore thumb.

I know exactly how you feel because those were the concerns I had when I started my degree at the ripe old age of 48, people assured me there would be lots of ‘mature’ students however this was not the case. I found the other students to be just as welcoming to me as they were to the younger students, I was always included in the ‘partying’ invites and no one ever minded when I politely declined-I also found that although the younger students appeared confident and assured they actually were just as nervous if not more nervous than I was- dont forget those of us who have worked have lots of experience and knowledge in other areas apart from education. I am convinced you will be absolutely fine and I think its terrific you are now ready to complete your education-Good luck and enjoy!!!

Hi Valerie,