Thinking about a Disney Cruise in 2015

My DH and I just realized that our 20th anniversary is a little over a year away and we were throwing out ideas and started looking into taking a cruise. Neither of us have been before, so we are complete Newbies. I have a few questions.

1. Is there a good time to go? We were looking at the Bahamian 4-day cruise on the Disney Dream.

2. Do they ever offer specials like they do for the parks and resorts? Do they have value seasons like they do for the parks?

3. We aren’t super adventurous and are looking more for a relaxing trip where we can just enjoy each other’s company. Do you have to go off the ship? (Other than Castaway Cay, I don’t really see us wanting to venture out too much).

4. Do they handle food allergies? I eat Gluten Free.

5. What is the best guide book to get?

That is all I can think of so far. Thanks for any help!

[QUOTE=jen9804;1140580]My DH and I just realized that our 20th anniversary is a little over a year away and we were throwing out ideas and started looking into taking a cruise. Neither of us have been before, so we are complete Newbies. I have a few questions.

1. Is there a good time to go? We were looking at the Bahamian 4-day cruise on the Disney Dream.

2. Do they ever offer specials like they do for the parks and resorts? Do they have value seasons like they do for the parks?

3. We aren’t super adventurous and are looking more for a relaxing trip where we can just enjoy each other’s company. Do you have to go off the ship? (Other than Castaway Cay, I don’t really see us wanting to venture out too much).

4. Do they handle food allergies? I eat Gluten Free.

5. What is the best guide book to get?

That is all I can think of so far. Thanks for any help![/QUOTE]

1. When kids are in school. There will be kids on any cruise ship but there are a lot more people (inlcuding little ones) when school is out. Less people on the ship is more enjoyable.